Our Mission:  To enrich lives, promote lifelong learning, and strengthen our community.

The Town of Westerlo Public Library is a municipal public library chartered to serve the township of Westerlo by the Board of Regents of the State University of New York.  The library is administered by a Board of seven Library Trustees appointed by the Town Board for terms of five years.

Westerlo Public Library 2015-2020 Long Range Plan

2018 Annual Report

Westerlo Public Library Policy Manual

History of the Town of Westerlo Public Library

Dedicated on June 8, 1986, the Westerlo Public Library celebrates its 33th year of service in 2019.

It had been the hope of many Westerlo residents for many years to have their own town library.  In December 1983, Harold Bell donated the historic “Whitford Store” building to the Town of Westerlo to be used as a library and historical museum.  Mr. Bell generously gave the general store in memory of his beloved wife, Helen Taylor Bell.  She had been an ardent reader and history lover who passed away in 1982.

The building had been used as a general store throughout the eighteen hundreds and the early nineteen hundreds by the Green family.  About 1910 it was leased to Edwin Hannay and used as a car repair shop and show room for the new Model T Fords.

In 1915 it was purchased by Vernon Whitford, operated as an ice cream parlor and then expanded to a general store.  Mrs. Bell, who worked as a clerk for Mr. Whitford, inherited the store in 1948 and continued to operate it until her death.  Mr. Bell passed away in December 1983, eleven days after the transfer of the building to the Town of Westerlo.

On June 8, 1986, the Westerlo Public Library had its official opening with Ruth Hannay as its first Director.  Much hard work preceded that opening.  For two and a half years, the Library Committee, along with various community organizations and many volunteers, dedicated innumerable hours renovating the building.  The store had no central heating or plumbing, which was installed for the new library.  Local librarians volunteered to catalog the books, most which had been donated, to get the books shelf-ready so that the library could obtain a charter and be eligible for State funds.  More volunteers typed thousands of catalog cards, sometimes wearing gloves in the unheated building during the winter.

Since then the Library has moved forward into the electronic age with high speed internet access, Wi-Fi, an on-line catalog and account management, all while maintaining friendly personalized service and a relaxed atmosphere.  Providing ample new items on the shelves for our browsing patrons remains a priority.  This library has been a community project from the beginning.  We are committed to providing the highest level of library services to the people of Westerlo for many years to come!

Our Staff

Debbie Scott, Library Director
Amy Powarzynski, Library Assistant (Digital Services)
Lee Ackerman-Sawyer, Library Assistant (Youth Services)
Kimberly Slingerland, Library Assistant (Technical Services)

Our Board of Trustees

Laura Tenney (2021), President
Roberta Nunn (2021), Secretary
Susan Keitel (2020)
Maureen Sikule (2020)
Lila Smith (2020)
Robert Wilcox (2021)
Miranda Drumm (2022)

Board Meetings are held at 7 pm at the Library and are open to the public.

Board of Trustee Meetings in 2020:

Monday, January 13, 2020

Monday, February 10, 2020

Monday, March 9, 2020

Monday, April 13, 2020

Monday, May 11, 2020

Monday, June 8, 2020

Monday, July 13, 2020

Monday, August 10, 2020

Monday, September 14, 2020

Monday, October 19, 2020

Monday, November 9, 2020

Monday, December 14, 2020

Trackback URI |